Chapter
4 : And The Future Is Scary
Scene 7 : I'm Scared
I don't know how it came, but when I woke up this
morning, I was feeling a weird feeling.
The fear of never remembering who I was before the
accident.
I know this seems to be heavily irrational,
given that since my release from the hospital, I've managed to gather
memories from my childhood, and I even started to know a little about
Annie for the past few days. But it doesn't feel the same anymore.
Memories come back randomly, not in order. Like
scattered pieces of my past self, trying to recollect a puzzle I
don't even know the end of. Like a dream you do, but you're not
asleep ; you're not awake either, though, and it feels like a
story, re-invented by your mind and molded by what people have told
you about you around you.
I don't know how to feel about it. But I'm scared, I'm
so scared, of not being the same person I was before. What if,
by inadvertance, I just re-committed the mistakes of before the
accident, not knowing that I had made them since I don't even
remember them ? What if the good never comes back and I'm
doomed to repeat all the shitty things I've done ?
What if I hurt Annie again ?
I don't want her to cry ever again. I've looked
up my type of amnesia online. This retrograde amnesia,
apparently, that I have, has more chance of giving me the earliest
memories of my childhood rather than the last moments, the few years,
the few months, the few weeks, the few days, the few hours, the few
minutes, the few seconds, before the accident, before my life was
turned upside down, before all that I had created was just thrown out
of the window, as it had never existed, as Annie had said
herself before, and I'm terrified of not being in control of
my life anymore, of letting it depend on others, on my family, on my
ex-girlfriend...
I feel like I'm just a burden on everyone else's
shoulders, and I shouldn't be, I should let them live their own
lives, those lives they've put on hold, just for me, and not anyone
else.
I mean, my parents haven't gone back to work since the
accident. Annie herself hasn't gone back to work since the
accident. And living all together in this apartment, is way
too silent, no one dares to talk to the other people. It feels like a
funeral made for the living.
For me.
Slowly, the peace is re-established between me and my
ex-girlfriend, and we start talking again. She still doesn't
allow me to touch her, but sometimes, she leaves her hand, so
small, fitting perfectly in mine, that I wouldn't give up ever,
and I hold it, and I whisper about how I wish things were different,
that all the things that happened between us before the accident
never happened, and now I imagine scenarios in my head, but
they're never the best, they are always the worst, and I can't help
it but thinking about the possibility of having hurt her physically.
I look up at the most recent photos between us, last
year at Christmas, summer beaches, theme parks and morning pictures,
but the smile on her face is so fake, my smile is fake too,
happiness doesn't reflect on those pictures of us, and I'm seeing,
sometimes, a faint bruise on her cheek, the red eyes that look like
you're hungover, and it doesn't feel right, and I feel like a
monster looking for redemption, with the exception that I don't know
what I'm looking for, since I don't even remember it.
I keep saying sorry everytime our shoulders brush, and
our fingers touch when reaching for the same object, and when she
looks at me with the will of getting back with me, but something's
holding her back, and I know it's me, and I know that she's
the only person carrying the memories of us, and I'm not, she's
weilding the burden I've been freed of, and it doesn't feel right,
and I shouldn't have this priviledge she's not having, and I wish
that nothing had ever happened, I just want to take everything
back to the start, I want her to forget the wrong I've done and start
things new.
But I know this will never happen, this is a wish
that will never be granted, because it is impossible, and it has
never been, and it will never be.
I'm now above the toilet, nausea filling up my stomach.
I don't even know how much I've drunk tonight with all the wine and
whiskey that my mom served us for diner, before and after. Annie has
been here before me, but she didn't puke. I did. I clean the mess
I've made and flush the toilet before leaving the bathroom and trying
to splash water on my face to conceal what I've become.
As I'm about to leave the room, I feel a hand on my
shoulder, and my instinct automatically tells me it's Annie.
She just stays silent before opening her mouth, just saying :
« It's not your fault, Cassie, I'll say it again.
Don't ever feel remorseful in any way. I was selfish.
I was careless. I ran away and I didn't care about you or your
feelings. I could have asked you to move in with me, but I didn't
want you to see my misery, how shallow I had become while
studying, how depressed I was, and I still am, because
I missed you, and I still miss you. You haven't become a ghost
because you lost your memories. As you said yourself, they'll come
back, as they've already started to. I became a ghost because all I
ever stood for was crushed when I left Glendam. I
should be the one apologising for what I've done while leaving you
here, in this shitty place, with no one to talk to. So, I'm gonna say
it, I'm sorry, and I hope you understand my choices. You know
I'll have to leave at the end of the week to go back to work,
right ? Those bills aren't going to pay themselves... »
And once again, I feel like she's not doing it because
she has to go to work and shit, but rather because she wants
to run away, to run away from me, and I only think this is
right, because if I were in her shoes, I would have run away a
very long time ago.
I go back to my bed as Annie sleeps on the couch, a
bottle of water and an aspirin on her side, and I'm only left to my
loneliness, and the dark thinking sinking in. I'm thinking about how
she doesn't let me touch her and then I think about a little bruise
here and there on a picture taken during the last five years, after
we left high-school, after we parted, and then, I quickly make the
connection between those two facts, and I realise, that maybe,
after all, I really have hurt her physically. When she
said the other day that our break-up hadn't been easy, I had
never realised that maybe, she was actually
telling the truth.
When I fall asleep, my dreams come over-flowing with
punches made on her pretty face, the blood drippling off her nose,
and now, I'm confusing reality and fiction, my memories coming back
with my vivid and dark imagination, and I'm thinking, I could have
killed her, holy shit, and now, I understand why she just backs
up and goes away from me a little bit everytime I'm too close
to her. Everyone, after all, should have the same
reaction in front of someone who's hurt them in the past.
She still talks to me and watches the television
everyday with me, but it doesn't look like a proper conversation. I
feel like she's just filling in the blanks, talking about the stuff
that she likes instead of talking about herself and her current
feelings. And honestly, I'm doing the same thing, because I don't
want to be seen as a bother by her, and I don't want to fill her
sorry head drowning in emotions and pain that I wish I could take
away from her, if only she let me do it, and if she's not talking
about her own emotions, she probably doesn't want me to talk about
mine...
Are things goint to ever go back to normal
after this accident ?
I don't know.
In the end, I wake up in the middle of the night, sweat
dripping off my pyjamas, after a nightmare filled with horrors, Annie
being hurt, Annie at the hospital, Annie dying because of me, and
I don't know if it's real or not, and I'm hoping that it's really
not, that she will always be alright, so I leave my bed,
trying to be as silent as possible when I walk in front my parents'
bedroom, when I open the door to the kitchen, and then the door to
the fridge, to take a little fresh bottle of water I had put there
yesterday evening (I'm checking the time and it's three in the
morning, god dammit). I take a second one for me and I shift
to the living room, only seeing the shadow and the little bump on the
couch, where Annie sleeps, and I'm checking her breathing, to
see if she's alright, because that honestly all I need to
know.
« Are you awake ? I ask, hoping I'm not
disturbing her.
- No... Can't sleep, she grumbles behind her sheets. 'S the third time I've been awoken by these bad dreams this night...
- I have a bottle of water, looks like you're hot, I quickly tell her before realising what I've just said, hoping she hasn't realised. « Cheers.
- Cheers. », Annie replies before gulping off her bottle, and I notice that she really needed it. Maybe I wasn't that stupid, after all, to check her health tonight. « What ? Are you going to stay here all night until I fall asleep ?
- Maybe, I answer, shifting a little bit towards her. Actually, I was thinking... if we don't seem to be able to sleep, maybe I could stay here a little ? On the couch, with you ?
- Mmmmh... whatever. », she says before letting me next to her, on this little space, not caring about having even less space than before.
And as I take the
little spot on the border of the couch, the side that is the closest
to the ground, she turns around and lets me put my arms around her
waist, and it feels like before.
I can feel her quick breathing slowing down with the touch of my
hands, her movements calming down, before she closes her eyes and
muttering a quick goodbye.
And before I even realise it, she falls asleep, and I know it, this
is right, even for a second, to
think that maybe, we
could get back together, given the time and the opportunity. That we
obviously don't have
at all.
But at the
very least, I'm enjoying this little moment in the dead end of the
night, and the demons populating my head seem to have shut the fuck
up for once, and I'm left with silence, but it feels like bliss, like
warm silence, when you have nothing to say, not because you're
afraid, but because you are so linked you can communicate with words.
And maybe it feels like pity sex – minus the sex,
we're too tired for that anyways – but what are you gonna say about
it ? This moment is gold and I'll probably never enjoy it ever
again, so I'm just enjoying the mere seconds I can have with her,
hoping that she doesn't mind me staying over a little bit more than I
had predicted.
2013 words (Total : 15405).
Scene 8 : Video-Games And Pancakes
I don't even remember falling asleep on the
couch next to Annie, but suddenly, it's the morning, and the sun's
shining on our faces, coming from the window right in front of us.
I grumble and open my eyes, only to realise that during
the night, Annie had changed her position, and was now burying her
head on my chest. When she hears my grumble, she just replies with
her own grumble, and puts my arm on my ribs to make more
shadow for her so she can avoid the sunlight, too. I just
smile and don't add anything, because I don't want to stop this
moment of pure bliss and ignorance.
« Ladies ! I've made you pancakes, do you
want... some ? »
Ladies and gentlemen... and everyone in between... my
mother.
Quickly noticing she probably shouldn't have
walked on us with tangled limbs and bedhair and morning ruffles all
over our pyjamas, she goes back to the kitchen, before coming back,
in her hands, delicious, warm pancakes on a big plate, with two
little ones so we can serve ourselves, two little spoons, and a
bottle of maple syrup. She briefly tells us enjoy your meal !
before she leaves the living room, probably to give us some privacy
and to tell my dad to do ths same.
« What did she want ? Annie asks,
tugging at my sleeve while still laying on the sofa.
- She just wanted to bring us some pancakes, do you want some ? »
She just nods in agreement and sits next to me, serving
herself once I'm done, and we eat in silence. But quickly, we end up
eating right from the big plate, dropping the maple syrup directly
onto the pile of pancakes, just like children who can't wait to be
served for eating.
We start a conversation on who was the scariest villain
on Doctor Who ; I believe it's the Weeping Angels, she believes
it's the Zygons. On the one hand, you have devilish statues who send
you back in time, making you unable to see your loved ones ever
again ; on the other hand, you have terrific shape-shifters
who take the place of your loved ones and who lure you into going
somewhere with them before killing you.
We then realise how we've chosen your scariest villains
according to our current feelings ; me, feeling trapped in the
past since I can't remember what happened to us recently ; her,
feeling like I've been replaced by a horrible creature who will end
up killing her. I wish I had the courage to tell her about
this little observation I just had, but then, I remember that it's
probably not the time to talk about negative feelings while we're
just experiencing this little moment of bliss, and we finally agree
that maybe, the scariest villain on Doctor Who is the Silence.
Because it's invisible, you don't remember it, you
try to count them before you forget them, and then you do, and you
don't understand why you have all these scars on your wrists, you
don't know why you did them, where they come from. You turn your
head, and here they are ; they are scary, and you keep counting,
staring at them so you don't forget, but you want to look away , you
want to forget, so you do, and then, you look at your wrists, and you
ask yourself, again, where do the scars come from, and you don't
know, and it starts, again and again, until they decide to end your
torture, them slowly killing you, and they pull the trigger.
And there's nothing left behind that point.
As we keep eating our breakfast, we've already changed
our topic of conversation, and we're now talking about our favourite
ships on Doctor Who. We quickly say that Rose was a perfect
match for the Doctor, there's no denying that ; although the
Master could be a great potential for the Doctor as well, we add
while winking at each other.
« You know, we could go to one of these
conventions, in London... Annie says while smiling again. And we
would cosplay as the Doctor and the Master...
- And you'd be the Master, I assume ? I add with a grin on my face.
- Of course, don't be silly. », she answers once she comes back from the kitchen where she just put the dishes to clean in the dishwasher. « I mean, we'd do the best Tenth Doctor and John Simm Master duo, am I right ?
- The Doctor and the Master... but genderbent... sounds really interesting, actually. », I make a pause as she sits next to me once again. « Anyways, do you want to watch some anime ? I have some that I found yesterday that I'd like to show you... well, I hope that you haven't already watched them and I don't remember it... »
I chuckle as I show her Attack On Titan, that
she says we've already watched at the very least ten times overall
during the last couple of years, and for a second, I feel a little
bit stupid, but then, I remember that I have memory loss, and
Annie doesn't mind watching it for the eleventh time, even
when she feels like she could recitate every line ever. We
finish our breakfast while the opening theme – and God, it's so
catchy, now I get why this anime is so damn popular –
goes on for one more time, and we feel like a bunch of children,
during the holidays, doing what our parents would never allow
us to do : stay in pyjamas all day while doing nothing
productive.
Except that we're adults, we're not in holidays, and
one day, we'll have to go back to work. Me here, and Annie in
Detroit. Like it's always been since we left high-school.
I ask her, during a little break to take some soda,
when she'll go back to work, and she briefly answers that she
doesn't even know if she'll go back to her bank and normal daily
routine. She ends up just saying that she doesn't even know if
she's willing to go back to Detroit, after all that happened
to us recently.
« I mean... I realised that, in the end, maybe I
don't want to pressure myself in a job that I don't like... But at
the same time, you know, I can't just quit a job without having a
plan B to pay the bills...
- I get it. », I answer while bringing back lunch, a pizza I had ordered half an hour ago and which had just been delivered. « Want some pizza ?
- Yup ! », she answers, pausing the game and shifting towards me.
We take a little break to eat our meal, not even caring
where our hands go, and we just eat right from the box, taking
the little pieces one by one as I had cut them, and half an hour
later, we're done, and we just throw the box in the garbage bin
before washing our hands and going back to the living room, still in
pyjamas.
« What are we going to do now ? I ask while
looking around us for another distraction. Do you want to play some
video-games ? There seems to be a big collection right
there... »
I point at a box containing loads of disks, and
bring it to Annie, so she can choose the game we're about to play.
She ends up choosing Mario Kart, telling me it was one of our
favourite games when we were children. Of course, this one is
a modern version that she had bought me a couple of years ago, but I
mean, it's the same game, right ? Just a race with Nintendo
characters and awesome features that usually ruin all your
friendships at once because of the level of competitiveness in
this game.
Before we even know it, we've played all the roads,
and two hours have gone down the clock. My parents, and I'm so
glad for them, have gone back to work, so the apartment is only
occupied by me and Annie, so we just enjoy our time spent together
before she has to leave me, once again, which feels weird,
because I still don't remember her being away from me, so it feels
like she's leaving me for the very first time, and I kinda
don't want her to go now.
Because she feels like a rock, anchoring me in the
middle of this hurricane, keeping me grounded while I don't exactly
where I am. She shows me things she likes, and that I used to like,
too, and it feels like my life finally makes sense, because somehow,
my taste hasn't change much since my accident. I don't know why, but
it seems to make her happy, so I'm not gonna complain.
« Ha ! Got you ! » I say while I
send her a blue shell, making me the lead of the current race.
« What are you going to do about this, Thompson ?
- Why are you calling me Thompson ? she replies while tilting her head, concentrating on speeding up to catch up on me. Do you really believe it makes you menacing ? »
I'm gonna show you what's menacing, she adds
while turning her head towards me, and what could change the
current situation... She just plants a kiss on my cheek, making
me lose my focus on the race as the speeds up one last time, winning
the race.
« Ha ! Who got you there, huh, Miller ?
Annie chuckles, as I start to laugh as well.
- Gotta admit my defeat on this one... but I want my revenge ! Let's do a battle this time ! Are you down with that ?
- If I can show you who's the best at this game, then of course I'm down with it ! »
We actually ended up on a draw, but we didn't seem to
care. The day actually ended with us tickling each other on the
couch, making each other laugh until our stomachs ached, and for the
first time in ages, it seems, we are happy, blissfully
unaware of what's happening, of what happened of what will happen in
the future, because we're just living in the moment, and that
is all that matters.
I don't know what happened next, as everything seemed
to go so fast, but before I even know it, Annie's on top of
me, smiling like a little pesky child, but at the same time, it feels
like she knows what she's doing, and I'm not gonna be against
it.
« Can I ? » she whispers, asking for
my consent, which I promptly give anyways.
Because, in the end, isn't it what you wanted in the
first place ?
She approaches slowly and leaves a peck on my lips, a
peck that becomes a shower of pecks, and obviously I kiss
back, because I like it, and I'm thinking, this is right, this
is how our life was, how it should be, and I don't want it to
end. Ever.
« Darlings ! We're back ! », my
mom suddenly shouts while opening the door, coming in with my
parents.
And before she even has the time to reach the living
room, we've already shifted back to our previous positions, sitting
next to each other, watching some crap on the television (it's a
baking show I believe), and we don't talk about it. Not because we're
ashamed or anything ; my parents know we've been dating
for years and they fully accept it ; but maybe, we
realised, we've been too quick on this one, and we should have
probably waited for our feelings to come back to normal
before doing it.
And still, I'm heavily craving for more.
Words : 2012 (Total : 17417).
Aucun commentaire:
Enregistrer un commentaire